Home

I just can’t make up my mind!  I’ve been struggling with the decision of whether to continue my gym membership or cancel it and workout at home.  Frustrated with seeing my $32 a month go to waste, I temporarily “froze” my gym membership.  Like a lot of people, when life gets busy I tend to abandon my fitness routine.  My frequent excuses are that “I don’t have time” and “I’m too tired.”  On occasion I’ll try to convince myself that cutting back on calories will make up for my lack of exercise but I know that is not entirely true.  The bottom line is that I just have to make time!

Not too long ago, a good friend put things into perspective for me.  She said that her health is a priority and just like she wouldn’t go all day without brushing her teeth, she wouldn’t go all day without working out.  Adopting that frame of thought, I made a promise to myself to do some sort of exercise every day.  Before unfreezing my gym membership, I thought I’d see how it goes working out at home.  I browsed through my exercise DVD collection which includes Windsor Pilates, Yoga Booty Ballet, Slim in 6, Core Secrets and 30-Day Shred to name a few.  I worked out with Jillian Michaels for a while before discovering some new workouts On Demand.  Gotta love U-verse!

While I enjoy the convenience of working out in the comfort of my own home and at any time of the day or night, I have to say that it’s just not as fun as my gym workouts.  I miss people watching on the treadmill and pretending not to notice when the big, buff guys start peacocking.  I miss the group exercise classes (Body Works Plus Abs at LA Fitness is my fav).  There also seems to be an added dose of motivation at the gym.  Knowing I’m not the only people watcher in the joint, I tend to work out a little harder just in case I have an audience.  Should I be embarrassed to admit that?  I find that when I’m tuckering out towards the end of my home workout, I just lay on the floor and watch the rest of it.  I know I should be embarrassed to admit that!

So, what’s a girl to do?  Do I plan my day around the group exercise schedule at the gym and get my entertainment on the treadmill?  Or do I make my own workout schedule and imagine I’m not the only one lunging and squatting in my living room?  Tell me what you think.

Please comment, share & subscribe!

7 thoughts on “Gym vs. Workout DVDs

  1. I also have a gym membership dilemma! Recently, I’ve worked so many hours of overtime that by the end of the day I’m completely exhausted and can barely walk let alone workout; but that is really no excuse. On occasion, I will walk with my mother but the intensity level just isn’t there and I too find myself longing for the motivation of a gym setting. Now, what isn’t ccol is the free money I’m dishing out on an unused membership every month 😦 Oh and that comment relating brushing teeth with working out—classic, i will be using that! All-in-all, thanks for this post, it has motivated me to start my P90X DVDs again!!

    • You hit the nail on the head! After a long day at work, sometimes the LAST thing I want to do is go to the gym. I’ve heard several people say how awesome P90X but I just don’t have enough motivation to workout out at home. I think I just might “unfreeze” my membership and just make sure to pack my workout clothes and head straight to the gym before I have time to change my mind! 🙂

  2. As you know, I quit the gym and LA Fitness tempts me every Wednesday with an email saying “We want you back.” And every Wednesday I almost give in and rejoin. I do miss the gym for the reasons you named, but then I realize I don’t need it and go on about my business for another week 🙂 When I worked out at the gym, it was primarily after work and that is not something I stick with, especially in this heat. Yes I could go in the morning but the only classes in the AM was Spinning which I hate. Classes are the main reason I liked the gym, so for me it just didn’t make sense.

    The key with working out is finding an activity and a time that works for you – what you will stick with. So if you enjoy the gym and feel like it is something that will cause you to work out consistently and at the level you need, then unfreeze that membership! I’ve done better without the gym so for me it is a no brainer. And I don’t particularly like the LA Fitness by my place either so there’s that.

    I say that quote about brushing your teeth, are you talking about me??? 🙂

    • Yes dear, I was talking about you! 🙂

      I’m glad that your home workouts are working for you. I wish I could say the same but I can’t. I think I will be going ahead and unfreezing my membership. I’ll just make it a point to go right after work before changing my mind. Even though I WAKE up pretty early, I don’t actually like to GET up until I’m good and ready! 🙂 Seriously, I saw the best results with Body Works + Abs and a half hour of cardio. I’m just going to schedule it into my day…just like brushing my teeth! 🙂

      • Do it! Once it cools off, I might rejoin the gym again. By then we will live closer so we’ll have to get together for a Saturday class like we always said we were going to do LOL

  3. Pingback: Poll: Where do you prefer to workout??? « Health Scoop Online

  4. Group classes at the gym get my vote. Accountability is a factor. When I go to the classes on a schedule, it works better for me and meeting a workout buddy at the gym increases accountability. It is very easy to postpone at home workouts. Even though you can schedule workouts any hour of the day, I find myself postponing the DVD workouts indefinitely.

Leave a Reply

