Home

As much as I hate to admit it, I have not been treating my body the way it deserves to be treated.  I haven’t been working out, watching my diet or even updating this blog which helps hold me accountable.  While there is no “excuse” for neglecting yourself, I did start a new job a couple of months ago and have been struggling with finding the balance between work, health/fitness and some of my other commitments.  I realize that this problem is not unique to me.  And like the saying goes, “When you know better, you do better.”  I definitely know better, so it’s time to do better!

What better way to jump-start my program than with a good ‘old challenge?!?!?  Over the last several months I managed to gain back all of the weight I had previously lost, which is about 20 pounds.  Luckily I’m tall and “carry it well” (why do people even say that?)  My preference is not to carry it at all…so I’m challenging myself to get rid of it for good and to take a step further and really tone and reshape my body.

Because I know that this type of transformation doesn’t happen overnight, I’m going to start with a small benchmark of  8-10 pounds in 30 days.  Why 30 days?  Well, because a friend and I are both going to be doing Jillian Michaels’ 30 day DVDs.  I’m starting with Jillian’s “30-Day Shred” and my friend who has already completed Shred will be doing “Ripped in 30”.  It’s always more fun when I have a buddy to join me.  To prepare, I weighed myself, took my measurements and embarrassingly asked my Mom take my “before” pictures (which no one could pay me to post).  Although, maybe once I’ve hit my goal I may be inclined to post it…but don’t hold your breath!

I encourage any of you who are struggling with your weight to start your own little challenge.  I’ll be updating the blog with my progress but have also called on some friends to share their experiences.  Stay tuned for “Spotlights” on these friends of mine who offer their tips and advice on exercise and nutrition.

4 thoughts on “30-Day Challenge

  1. I just started the 30 Day Shread and have set myself a similar challenge. Actually… wait… my challenge is simply to get through it, because it had me gasping on the floor by the end today!

Leave a Reply

