Home

I was in the mood for warm, filling, comfort food last night.  However, I’m back on the wagon and watching my weight…literally, I’m on Weight Watchers.  So, I hopped online and did a search and found this wonderful recipe on WeightWatchers.com.  I was excited to get to go peruse the produce section at Whole Foods Market.  Back in the kitchen, I was giddy to flex my chopping and dicing skills on fresh, colorful vegetables – some of which I’d never had the pleasure of cooking before (I’ll admit it, I didn’t know what the heck Swiss chard was).  The aroma wafting throughout the house as the combination of flavorful veggies simmered in the broth made my mouth water.  Plus, it was super easy to make and only 1 point per serving!  This recipe gets 5 stars from me.  Enjoy this tasty Fresh Vegetable Soup, courtesy of Weight Watchers.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cloves (medium) garlic, minced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 medium carrots, diced
  • 1 medium sweet red pepper, diced
  • 1 stalk (medium) celery, diced
  • 2 small zucchini, diced
  • 2 cups green cabbage, shredded
  • 2 cups Swiss chard, chopped
  • 2 cups cauliflower, small florets
  • 2 cups broccoli, small florets
  • 2 tsp thyme, fresh, chopped
  • 6 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 Tbsp parsley or chives, fresh, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp table salt, or to taste
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper, or to taste
  • 2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice, optional

DIRECTIONS:

Put garlic, vegetables, thyme and broth into a large soup pot.  Cover and bring to a boil over high heat; reduce to low and simmer, partly covered, about 10 minutes.

Stir in parsley or chives; season to taste with salt, pepper and lemon juice.

Yields about 12, one cup servings. 

NOTES:

If you like thick soups, consider pureeing this recipe in the pot with an immersion blender.

There are so many variations on this recipe. Add or leave out vegetables to suit your taste.

Save time by using frozen vegetables instead of fresh ones (though the texture of the soup might change a bit). You can also buy small amounts of pre-cut vegetables from your supermarket’s salad bar.

Leave a Reply

