Home

Wow, I just realized that its been over a month since I posted last.  I know that I’m a busy girl but I’ve been gone way too long.  The good news is that I’m back…and with a tasty recipe for you! 

Quick sidebar…be on the lookout for another post later today.  I think that it’s very important that people understand the various vitamins and minerals, how your body utilizes them, significant sources of these vitamins and minerals and the truths and myths about vitamin supplements.  There is so much information that today will be the first in a series on the topic so stay tuned!

Now, back to the task at hand…this will be my second pancake post so obviously I’m a fan.  Strange seeing how I hated them as a child.  I once stuffed pancakes in a little hole in the back of my Big Bird doll’s beak and my Mom didn’t discover it until Big Bird was being attacked by ants…it was awful.  Anyway, kids and adults alike will LOVE these Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes.  I had them this morning and didn’t even need syrup.  You should definitely give them a try…treat your family and make them tomorrow morning!  Bonus for those following Weight Watchers…they’re only 3 points for a serving!  Enjoy!

Whole Wheat Banana Pancakes (makes twelve 4-inch pancakes; 3 per serving)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 cup low-fat milk
  • 2 medium, very ripe bananas

DIRECTIONS:

 In a large bowl, mix flour, baking powder and cinnamon. 

In another bowl, mash bananas.  Mix in the milk and beaten eggs.

Pour banana mixture into the flour mixture and mix well.  If mixture appears too runny, add a little more flour; if too thick, add a little milk.

Coat a large, non-stick pan with non-stick spray.  Heat pan over medium heat 2 minutes.

Spoon 1/4 cup of batter on the heated pan for each pancake.  Cook until the tops are bubbly and the pancakes are dry around edges.  Flip and cook for 2-3 minutes until gold brown on both sides.

Optional:  top with fresh fruit such as sliced bananas or berries.

Leave a Reply

