Home

I absolutely LOVE sweet potato fries.  I think the first time I had them was at Village Burger Bar in West Village (Dallas).  Of course I get them every time I eat at Jake’s Hamburgers, although I try to avoid the sinful marshmallow dip that comes with.  Plus, sweet potatoes are so good for you!  The sweet potato was ranked number one in a list of the best foods you can eat by the CSPI (Center for Science in the Public Interest).  They’re loaded with carotenoids, vitamin C, potassium and fiber.

I was in the mood for the crisp, light and delicious fries today so I decided to make them at home.  I love looking for healthy adaptions to my favorite restaurant treats, so I found a great recipe for Sweet Potato Fries with Rosemary and Parmesan from The Skinny Chef (www.skinnychef.com/recipes).  I had my fries with a Spicy Black Bean Veggie Burger by MorningStar Farms.  Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 large sweet potatoes (2 lbs), peeled
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1-1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tbsp minced rosemary
  • 2 tbsp grated Parmesan
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt, plus more to taste
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1/8 tsp sweet paprika
  • Non-fat cooking spray

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Line two cookie sheets with parchment paper or aluminum foil.

Slice sweet potatoes into long matchsticks, about 1/4-inch in thickness.  Place in a large bowl and mix with olive oil and a 1/2 teaspoon of salt.  Spread out the fries in one even layer on the cookie sheet so they are not touching (otherwise, they become soggy).

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until fries are golden on the outside and soft on the inside.  Sprinkle with Parmesan, rosemary, black pepper and paprika.  Bake an additional 5 minutes until rosemary becomes fragrant.  Season with additional salt if necessary and serve immediately.

Serves 4.

SUBSTITUTIONS:

If you don’t have rosemary on hand, Thyme, Tarragon or Savory are acceptable substitutions.

One thought on “Sweet Potato Fries with Rosemary and Parmesan

Leave a Reply

