Home

I came home for lunch today and stood in the kitchen with the refrigerator door open, staring at its contents.  I guess I was hoping a deliciously prepared meal would magically appear in front of me.  When that didn’t happen, I decided to make a quick and easy Hummus & Grilled Veggie Wrap.  I got the recipe from The Food Network (www.foodnetwork.com) and it’s just too good not to share.  Of course I had to make a few slight modifications – unfortunately, I don’t keep toasted pine nuts and fresh mint leaves on hand.  Even still, my wrap was tasty and filling.  Here is the recipe, along with the modifications that I made.  Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 medium zucchini , cut lengthwise into 1/4-inch slices
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • pinch freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup store-bought hummus
  • 4 pieces whole-wheat wrap bread
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts, toasted
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 2 ounces baby spinach leaves (2 cups lightly packed)
  • 1/2 cup red onion thinly sliced into half moons
  • 1/4 cup fresh mint leaves

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat the grill or grill pan over medium heat
  2. Brush both sides of the zucchini slices with oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper
  3. Grill until tender and slightly browned, about 4 minutes per side
  4. Spread 1/4 cup of the hummus over each piece of bread
  5. Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of pine nuts on top
  6. Top with 3 slices of zucchini, 2 pieces of red pepper, 1/2 cup of spinach, a few sliced onions and 1 tablespoon of mint
  7. Roll each of them up and cut in half on a diagonal

***Yields 4 servings – serving size = 1 wrap

MODIFICATIONS:

  • Obviously I didn’t make all 4 servings so I adjusted the measurements to make just one wrap.
  • Like I mentioned above, I didn’t have pine nuts or mint for this recipe.  Neither did I have red bell pepper.  Instead, I used roasted red pepper flavored hummus and added tomato with the zucchini and onion on the grill.
  • I think that George Foreman’s “Lean Mean Fat-Reducing Grilling Machine” is the best invention ever, so that’s what I used to grill my veggies.
  • I hate using whole-wheat wraps because they tear apart when you attempt to roll them.  For that reason, I went ahead and used a flour wrap. 
Leave a Reply

