Home

A while back, I tried Dr. Ian Smith’s Fat Smash Diet.  The first 9 days of the diet is a detox in which you only eat fruits and veggies, but can have 1 cup of oatmeal per day.  Looking for creative ways to make a vegetarian diet more interesting, I ran a cross a recipe for Cinnamon Oatmeal Pancakes.  They didn’t sound all that appealing at first but I made them anyway.  I am happy to say that they were some of the best pancakes I’d ever had!  Seriously!  I didn’t last very long on the diet.  As a matter of fact, I didn’t even make it through the 9 day detox.  I did, however, find a recipe that I love and I want to share it with you.  Enjoy!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 dash salt
  • 3 packets instant oatmeal
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 servings 1 packet Splenda
  • 3 oz skim milk

DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine oats with all other ingredients in a bowl and mix well until a batter forms
  2. If you use large eggs, you may find you need to add a spoonful more of oatmeal to keep the batter from being too runny
  3. Spray a pan with Pam or lightly oil the pan
  4. Spoon batter into pan and cook over medium heat just like regular pancakes

Topping suggestions:  warm crushed pineapple, applesauce, fresh berries or sliced bananas (my favorite)

Leave a Reply

